Versatile Blogger Award

I have had the last two evenings off blogging and actually doing anything constructive, I have rather a long list of things-to-do as usual and actually have needed two nights off to stop panicking about it all. Silly I know, sometimes I feel better if I just work through it, sometimes I feel better if I have some time off. I watched two films in my nights off, Con Air and Definitely, Maybe – neither of which can really be called as classics (so not really counted for my 30 by 30) but were enjoyable all the same.

While I was off relaxing I have been nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award, I am so thrilled and amazed at this. It is funny, when you are a blogger you have access to site stats and can see how many views you have had on your site but to have an award from another blogger, one whose blog I follow and admire is wonderful, so thank you Peri – Peri blogs at Peri’s Spice Ladle and writes about mouth-watering Indian-inspired food.

The Rules of Acceptance:
 Thank the person who gave you this award.
 Include a link to their blog.
 Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
 Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award.
 Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.
 In the same post, include this set of rules.
 Inform each nominated blogger of their nomination by posting a comment on each of their blogs.
I’d like to nominate the following blogs for the Versatile Blogger Award:

  1.  limmster – I love Belles twitter bio “Outside is my favourite place”, her blog is of her rural life in Cork with her family and animals, her photos make me smile. Belles F*cket List inspired me to write my 30 by 30 list.
  2.  52NYR – Alistair Gills 52 New Years Resolutions were another inspiration for my 30 by 30, he has a super swish blog which I can only dream of having something similar.
  3. margot-and-barbara – yet another inspiration for my 30 by 30, it was on Liz’s blog that I first read about being a scanner; having so many interests that you don’t know what to choose, Liz writes about all her interests from fashion, beauty and travel to baking and gardening.
  4. Gemma Gannon – Gemmas blog is full of fantastic recipes for every sort of occasion, food for breakfast, lunch or dinner, afternoon tea or just a treat but I turn to Gemmas blog especially for recipes for biscuits, bread, cakes and bakes, superb!
  5. Jessica Mauskin Illustration – Jessicas blog showcases her gorgeous illustrations, they invite you to look carefully at the pictures to see what else you can spot, I just wish I could drawer like her.
  6.  Georgina Giles – Georginas blog is a great place to go for vintage finds, creative inspiration and Georginas Mini Monsters always make me laugh 🙂 she even has a few tutorials on her blog, go have a look.
  7. Carl Legge – Carl blogs about the Seasons, Foraging, Permaculture and Fermentation. He is an expert in sourdough baking and has many wonderful British seasonal recipes on his blog.
  8. Creative Jewish Mom – Sara blogs about crafting, cooking and gardening, I especially love that she recycles/upcycles a lot of things and shares how to do them with us. I have so many old t-shirts that I am desperate to crochet with!
  9. Meet Me At Mikes – Pip Lincolne who blogs at Meet Me At Mikes lives in Melbourne, Australia. My sister has moved to Australia, near to where Pip used to have her shop. I found her blog when I was trying to find out more about where my little sis lives. I fell in love with Pips blog with her cute style and now want to be the next Pip Lincolne, an English version, publishing my own books and all the rest of it…..we’ll see?
  10. Growing Up – this is the blog of Tom ‘an amateur kitchen gardener’ his own words, I love his honesty about his successes and failures in his garden.
  11. Lace Hearts – this is a completely new blog to me and it is full of all the things I love especially the crafting, the posts go back to 2008 so I still have a lot to explore.
  12. make, do & friend – this is an absolute delight of a blog, I wish me and the kids could be friends with Charlotte and Vin, I wish I had the confidence of doing even half of the creative and fun things that Charlotte organises for her son for my two. An inspiring blog for anyone who needs inspiration for creative play ideas for the kids! Love it!
  13. the little loaf – what a wonderful blog this is from Little Loaf, if baking is your thing this is the blog for you such fantastic flavour combinations and fab pics!
  14. Very Berry Handmade – this blog is where I come for my fabric fix, fantastic patchwork and stunning photos as well as recipes and some sewing tutorials, what more could you want?
  15. Red Ted Art’s Blog – Maggy has much more than a blog here; it is devoted to everything and more for arty things for kids. I have only just discovered this site and I know I will be coming back for more inspiration as my kids grow older.

Wow, what a list, some amazing blogs there and I hope you get a chance to have a quick look at least a few of them.

As per the rules of acceptance of this award here seven things about myself so I can share this with everyone:

  1.  I was born in Chester, grew up in Hereford and now live in West London – but I am a country girl at heart and would love to have a small holding one day.
  2. When I met my now husband I had short spikey hair and he had long curly hair – we now have a pact that we are never to revert to our previous hair styles!
  3. I really need people – I will go out of my way to find people to talk to and most weeks am heard saying “I’ve found a new friend”, even though at one point in time I would barely talk to anyone, and ran away when the phone started to ring!
  4. Another thing I have a ‘need’ for is chocolate – not a day goes by where I don’t have to have some, it can be in any form, I only need a little but I get quite grumpy if there is none in the house.
  5. I cannot handle alcohol – I have always been a ‘cheap date’ but since having the kids I am terrible, I can get tipsy on a sip and drunk on half a glass, I do however sober up almost instantly!
  6. I am named after my Great Great Aunt Catherine – who lived until she was 104, she was my Grannies Aunty and I did meet her when I was very young.
  7. Being a mum is the hardest thing I have ever done – I am not that adventurous but I have done a few things in life (got a 1st for my degree + completed an MSc) but I know that being a mum will always be the hardest thing I will ever do and know it is worth it all (even though some days are so hard).

Phew, I think that was the longest (and most complicated) blog I think I have written yet, just hope my links work.

One last thank you for Peri who nominated me for this award and happy blogging and/or reading to you all.

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on May 18, 2012 at 7:17 pm. It’s filed under Friends, Thinking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Aw thank you for your lovely comments. I’ve done this award before so don’t want to bore people with my details again, but loved reading more about you 🙂

  2. Lace hearts on said:

    Thank you for that and for your lovely comment about my blog. I can put a tick of agreement on most of your list above, especially the chocolate one. 🙂 And the alcohol. And the being a mum. As for friends, strangers are just friends we haven’t yet met. There’s always room for new friends. xx

  3. Hello! Thank you for nominating me for this award! I’ve been nominated twice now – better get on with writing my post 🙂 Would love to hear more about your degree and MSc – and I completely agree with you that parenting is the hardest thing in the world. Good job it’s also the best thing! x

    • Your three nominations are well deserved, I really enjoy reading your blog 🙂 My degree is in Physical Geography and MSc in Environmental Management, I worked in local council for a bit before the kiddies arrived but now I’ve had time to explore all my other hobbies I have no idea what job I want to do when I grow up 😉

  4. Thanks so much Cath. I finally got round to doing my nominations and seven facts http://www.carllegge.com/2012/06/versatile-blogger-award/ 🙂

    • What a super post Carl, I’ve had a nose round a few of your recommendations but have had to stop so I can get on with some work 🙂
      I’m the complete opposite with socks….even wearing them in bed and if I didn’t live in West London I would love to live back in Herefordshire where I lived for most of my life, I’m not that adventurous 🙂

  5. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award | margotandbarbara

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...