Chocolate Herman Brownies (and a small favour)

We had a fantastic weekend this weekend, we went up to Ruislip Lido both days and we all had a great time in the sun. But, guess what? It’s been raining again today and very cold so a bit of chocolate was in order to cheer us all up!

Here is the recipe I tried today:

Chocolate Herman Brownies

  • 185g Butter
  • 185g Dark Chocolate
  • 20g Flour
  • 40g Cocoa Powder
  • 100g White Chocolate
  • 1 Egg
  • 135g Golden Caster Sugar
  • 1 Portion of Herman

Grease and line a 20cm square tin. Preheat the oven to 180C/Gas 4.

Melt the butter and dark chocolate in a bowl over a pan of hot water, leave to cool. Sieve the flour and cocoa powder into a mixing bowl. Chop the white chocolate into chunks.

Whisk the eggs and sugar together until a glossy pale colour. Pour the cooled chocolate and butter mix into the egg, fold in very gently. Add the portion of Herman and mix again very gently. Re-sift the flour into the mix and fold in as gently as possible. Finally stir in the chocolate chunks until distributed evenly.

Pour the mixture into the tin, gently smoothing it into the corners and leveling the top. Bake for 25 minutes, to check, gently shake the tin, if the brownie wobbles in the middle put it in for a further 5 minutes. The top should have a papery crust and look shiny. Leave to cool completely before cutting.

Straight out of the oven – Chocolate Herman Brownies

Slice of Chocolate Herman Brownie with papery top and white choc chunks – it is very oily though

As before, this is another Herman experiment so here are my observations.

General Appearance: The top of the cake has the proper Brownie papery look but the edge is very crispy, maybe lower temp for longer.

Aroma: Mmmmmm, Chocolate!

Texture: Very oily, not sure if I need to put less butter in the mix or maybe more flour or both, the recipe definitely needs work.

Taste: Chocolate Brownie 🙂

So in all I am quite happy with this bake, it is edible at least, well it is chocolate how could I not it?! However, after my disasters at the weekend I have been a bit upset about the whole ‘Herman thing’, I had thought that I would write a recipe book entirely dedicated to Herman recipes. What do you think? Do you think I should write a Herman recipe book? It is one of my 30 by 30 things that I would love to have a book published before I am 30.

Could you do me a massive favour and leave me a comment or even just like my facebook page or anything you can do to show you think my book is a good idea. Just feeling like I need a bit of support…

For now,

Catherine

PS. Thank you x

This entry was published on May 15, 2012 at 9:10 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Herman, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

18 thoughts on “Chocolate Herman Brownies (and a small favour)

  1. Love it! Nothing like a good brownie!! xx

  2. Rebecca Preece on said:

    Its a great idea, but you need to think carfuly about your goal. Do you want it published? or do you just want to write the book for the love of what your doing? If you want it published then maybe you should contact some publishers to see what there responce is about a Herman recipe book. But if its more personal then just put every thing into it, enjoy it and learn but don’t expect a financial gain, you could always print a small run off at a printers and sell them to family and friends, and you never know it could take off.

    I have also started a book a childrens story book about my travels (as I have a lot of time on my hands at the moment), and Lachlan was the one who asked me if I was doing it for the right reasons. He’s a clever man and think it was his was of looking after me he doesn’t want to see me disapointed, but he is encouraging me to carry on with it because it makes me happy. So if it make you happy then go for it, don’t think of the out come. Good luck

    Also thank you for my birthday present, loved the british theme. Lots of love your little Sis

  3. Looks absolutely delicious! I would love to try some of that. I reckon I would polish it off in 5 minutes flat!

  4. Bridget Leyden on said:

    Hi Catherine, I think the book sounds a really good idea, and a lot of fun doing the research. I made some muffins last week based on a recipe I found online (I googled ‘sourdough muffins’). The recipe said to mix the starter and the rest of the flour and leave it for at least 7 hours before making the recipe. The first time I couldn’t be bothered, and they sunk, although they tasted nice. The next time I did as the recipe suggested and they rose really well. Maybe you could try this technique in your baking? Bridget

    • Hi Bridget,
      Thank you for your comment, it is so nice to have feedback, the research is definitely worth it 🙂
      Sourdough muffins sound very exciting, I am due to do some Herman baking tomorrow so will look into those, waiting is definitely hard but so worth it in the end, I’ll let you know if I try them 🙂 x

    • Hi Bridget,
      Thank you for your comment, it is so nice to have feedback, the research is definitely worth it 🙂
      Sourdough muffins sound very exciting, I am due to do some Herman baking tomorrow so will look into those, waiting is definitely hard but so worth it in the end, I’ll let you know if I try them 🙂 x

  5. Jacquelyn on said:

    I tried this recipe today! It was a huge success! The children loved Herman brownies! I baked it at a lower temp for longer and in a rectangular dish so it cooked consistently rather than over cooking on the edges! But an over all thumbs up!

    • Hello, great to hear you have tried this recipe, I’ve been experimenting with oven temperatures and timings and Herman cakes definitely seem to prefer cooler temperatures for longer times 🙂

  6. Pingback: Herman And Friends « thecreativetoe

  7. Jane on said:

    Nice recipe. I love a simple brownie recipe which is easy for the kids 🙂
    I also like the below brownie recipe.
    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/perfect-chocolate-brownie-recipe/

    Thanks for sharing,
    Jane

    • Hi Jane, thank you for your comment, most of the Herman recipes are great for the kids to get involved in, no beating or careful folding needed.
      I will have a look at that brownie recipe later, I do want to amend mine as it was ever so slightly too sticky, think it just needs another 25g/1oz flour 🙂

  8. Awesome Recipe 🙂
    These are great… here is another recipe you might like to try.
    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/perfect-chocolate-brownie-recipe/
    Thanks for sharing,
    Jill

  9. some fine recipes here – that brownie looks delicious!
    have you tried different flours? i have a wheat alergy, so am often using different ones.- currently i’m using spelt which is mighty tasty.
    i often bake cornmeal or millet muffins, so i’m thinking that i might have a go at throwing herman into the mix…

    • Thanks Stuart.
      I must admit I haven’t tried different flours for the Herman cakes but I have used Spelt before and love it, I use it to make blueberry pancakes – perfect breakfast food to keep you going through the day.
      I haven’t tried cornmeal or millet yet so will have to try those soon.
      Happy baking 🙂

  10. HI, thanks for sharing your recipes. I tried the chocolate brownie mix but put in a little less butter and more flour (as you said that might be why it was oily. My first attempt I reduced the butter to 165g and increased the four to 30g, the result was a very yummie but still quite oily cake.
    I tried again today and used 115g of butter and 40g of flour,also I added some chopped nuts.
    What came out was almost perfect, very yummie and not at all oily.

    thanks again for the recipe ideas, I will work my way through them eventually.

    zaine.

    • Hi Zaine,
      This is excelent, thank you for taking the time to try my recipes and also to alter them too 🙂 I am so pleased that you have worked out the best proportions of butter and flour for the Herman Brownies, I really want to make some more now! Yum!
      If you try any more recipes let me know and if you have any questions do ask.
      Catherine x

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

