Shortbread Biscuits – for Easter

A few weeks ago I came across a super recipe for little shortbread biscuits on a blog that I really love – Make Do Sew. I have made these shortbread biscuits three times now as we love them so much and are great for keeping the kids busy decorating a couple of them each while I get on and clean/tidy/cook etc. Also you can cut them into any shape you want so they are perfect for themed events such as Christmas or Easter or different parties. They somehow taste ‘special’ but are so simple.

Easter Shortbread Biscuits

Shortbread Biscuits – for Easter

  • 150g (5oz) plain flour
  • 100g (4oz) room temperature butter
  • 75g (3oz) icing sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg yolk

Beat the butter and sugar together in a mixing bowl until creamy. Beat in the egg yolk and vanilla extract. Sieve in the flour and combine until a soft dough forms, shape into a ball, wrap in cling film and place in the fridge for an hour or overnight.

Take dough out of the fridge 15 minutes before you are planning to use it. Pre-heat the oven to 170C/Gas 3 1/2.

Flour a surface and knead the dough until it feels smooth. Roll out to a thickness of about 4-5mm and cut into the desired shapes. Place on a lined baking tray and bake for 12-15 minutes until slightly golden at the edges.

Lou at Make Do Sew suggests adding different flavours such as lemon and poppy seeds or lavender, orange, nuts or caraway seeds, all of which sound amazing!

IMG_0745 - Copy IMG_0749 - Copy IMG_0751 - Copy IMG_0797 - Copy IMG_0771 - Copy IMG_0780 - Copy IMG_0783 - Copy IMG_0785 - Copy IMG_0724 - Copy

Can’t believe I managed to squeeze three posts in this week, happy days! I have a few more recipes that I’ve been trying out this weekend but the next few days are super busy so will have to wait until next week now.

Wishing you all a really happy Easter,

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on March 30, 2013 at 2:15 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “Shortbread Biscuits – for Easter

  1. Your photography is great! I also love that pale green cup and saucer šŸ˜‰

  2. Hi Catherine, thank you so much for linking me in your lovely post. The biscuits are great aren’t they. It made me smile to see your children enjoying them. My two littlies love them too. Thanks again, have a great Easter. Xx

  3. Shortbread is so simple and fun. And really cute once decorated. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. I love the expression of pure joy on those faces above! Sadly I haven’t an oven (I know – it’s just not cricket is it?) but if I did I would be all over these biccies!

    • The poor things had been watching and waiting while I took 100 photos of the biscuits so I was ready to snap their expressions as soon as they go their hands on them! Was not disappointed!
      I actually would not survive without an oven…..baking is my sanity šŸ˜‰

  5. Bridget Leyden on said:

    Very good biscuits Catherine, thanks for the recipe

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

