Hot Water Bottle Upcycling

As part of my 30 by 30 Challenge I aim to reduce our household waste. This is something that I really need to research and look at how others have gone about this, but for the time being I try to do what I can.

I have to admit that I am a bit of a hoarder and do feel very bad throwing anything away, so when I had my mum staying this week I was able to have a little time to look through my boxes of accumulated ‘stuff’ that we have stashed in the spare room. Admittedly I was supposed to be tidying up but I came across an old hot water bottle and wondered what on earth I could do with it.

As well as the hot water bottle I found lots of off-cuts from craft projects that I had just failed to throw away!

The solution? Stuff the hot water bottle with the fabric scraps! Gives you a small booster seat for a toddler sitting at a table or what I will use mine for – a kneeler for doing gardening.

Hot Water Bottle Kneeler

  • One old hot water bottle
  • Fabric scraps
  • scissors
  • Wooden Spoon

Undo the lid of the hot water bottle. If the fabric scraps are too large cut them into thin strips. Using the handle of a wooden spoon poke the scraps down into the bottle. Replace lid. Use as required!

Empty old hot water bottle Scraps from Williams Quilt Using a wooden spoon to fill Bellas too-small tights with holes in - not reusable Oh gosh, more scraps! Hot water bottle stuffed! Being used as a booster seat

Have you ever upcycled anything? It’s very satisfying.

This entry was published on February 23, 2013 at 10:40 pm. It’s filed under Crafting, Doing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Hot Water Bottle Upcycling

  1. This is a really good idea. I like upcycling – it’s very satisfying.

  2. Love it Catherine! Always upcycling here šŸ™‚

  3. Lesley on said:

    Take a look here for some more ideas for recycling/reusing old rubber hot water bottles:
    http://www.wikihow.com/Recycle-an-Old-Hot-Water-Bottle
    I don’t like throwing things away, and anything is better than seeing an old hot water bottle end up in the bin!

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

