Ginger biscuits – {Delicious – #amonthof creative moments}

I sort of missed the last few days of #amonthof, Wednesday was ‘nostalgic’, Thursday was ‘busy’ which I have been (hence lack of posts) and yesterday – Friday was ‘delicious’!

I couldn’t pass up a chance to create something delicious so headed to my recipe books to get some inspiration.

And this is what I chose:

Written by me when I was about 14 - I was very interested in cooking and started collecting my favourite recipes in a notebook

Written by me when I was about 14 – I was very interested in cooking and started collecting my favourite recipes in a notebook

This seems to be where it all started with the cooking and the book writing ‘thing’ and I am amazed at how far I have come with my own little blog!

Anyway, back to these biscuits! The above recipe is one that my mum has made for years and always brings back memories, the biscuits are crumbly and chewy at the same time and leave a kick of fiery ginger in your mouth.

Ginger Biscuits

I will leave the instructions in ounces as I think if I converted it, it may not come out right – here it is typed incase you want to print it.

Makes 12 biscuits

  • 8oz Self-Raising Flour
  • 4oz Granulated Sugar
  • 2tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
  • 2tsp Ground Ginger
  • 4oz Butter
  • 2tbsp Golden Syrup
  • [Optional – 4 chunks of stem ginger in syrup, chopped into small bits]

Sift all the dry ingredients into a mixing bowl.

Melt the butter and syrup in a pan over a very low heat.

Cover two baking trays with grease proof paper – or just one if you only have one (I have hundreds!)

Pre-heat the oven to Gas 4/180C.

Pour the melted butter and syrup into the flour mixture and mix until all combined and you can’t see any more white flour.

Using your hands roll into small balls about 4cm/1.5inches diameter. You might need to squidge the mixture together a bit first as it will be a bit crumbly.

Place the balls of dough onto the baking tray, spaced out enough to allow for them to spread during cooking – I usually put six on each tray.

Using your first two fingers press the balls down very slightly until the edges just crack.

Put into the oven and bake for 12 minutes (if you use two trays swap them over half way through cooking).

Leave to cool for 10 minutes on the tray then transfer to a cooling rack.

Uncooked dough, rolled into balls and lightly pressed onto the baking tray.

Uncooked dough, rolled into balls and lightly pressed onto the baking tray.

Ginger biscuits straight out of oven

Ginger biscuits straight out of oven

Ginger biscuits - cooling on the wrack

Ginger biscuits – cooling on the rack

Crumbly and chewy at the same time - delicious!

Crumbly and chewy at the same time – delicious!

These are perfect to serve friends who come round for tea but also just as good to keep to yourself and snaffle when no one is looking! You may find that your children actually like them – in that case, hide them!!!

Happy baking,

Catherine

This entry was published on January 19, 2013 at 5:08 pm. It’s filed under #amonthof, Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Ginger biscuits – {Delicious – #amonthof creative moments}

  1. The biscuits look very tasty!

  2. rosyragpatch on said:

    Your biscuits look very good.

  3. I love that you wrote this by hand at 14!

  4. Hello, these look ace! Would it be ok to include them in a round-up of ginger recipes for Domestic Sluttery, for our Just Desserts theme?

    • Hi Sara, I do remember tweeting with someone about the Just Desserts theme but then couldn’t find you again so thank you so much for finding me! 🙂 I did plan on making a iced ginger cream pudding for the theme but as usual I’ve got carried away with other things!
      Of course you can include them in your round-up and now I know where you are I will make sure I look out for next months theme 🙂

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

