Poignant – #amonthof creative moments – joining in with 50 things about me

Looking back on my life I have had it pretty easy, I have had ups and downs like many have but joining in with 50 things about me hosted by City Girl Gone Coastal has been a poignant reminder to live life to the full, celebrate the everyday and to try to be happy with who I am.

So here they are, 50 things about me:

50 things about me pic

  1. I was born in Chester
  2. but I am fiercely proud that I come from Hereford.
  3. I have one younger sister, we are very different, she lives in Australia
  4. I really wish we could have more time together, I miss her.
  5. I am an introvert by nature but can be really loud if I’m relaxed.
  6. I used to spend hours reading,
  7. I was school librarian at primary and high school,
  8. I used to read shelves of books – one end to the other!
  9. I barely ever remember a book I’ve read.
  10. I used to want to be a vet,
  11. until I realised you had to cut animals up.
  12. I used to be the first to do anything, give me a challenge and I’d do it.
  13. At the age of 11 I completely lost my confidence (no idea why).
  14. I got my bronze DofE award aged 15,
  15. my Skill was – playing bridge,
  16. my Physical Activity was – country dancing,
  17. and my Community Service was – St. John’s Ambulance…
  18. …so totally not cool!
  19. I have never had a ‘proper job’,
  20. I just counted, think I’ve had 13 so far!
  21. My first was a paper round.
  22. my current is as a bar maid,
  23. my favourite was at a plant nurseries.
  24. I got a first in BSc Physical Geography
  25. I have a MSc in Environmental Management.
  26. I planned to have both my kids at home…
  27. …I was blue lighted to hospital to have Bella by forceps…
  28. …I had Will at home, labour just over 2 hours, NO PAIN RELIEF! Yippee!
  29. I have joined the WI and am so totally excited about this,
  30. I act about 30 years older than I really am.
  31. My wardrobe mainly consists of clothes I had at uni,
  32. maternity clothes
  33. and ones I pick up from charity shops or am given by friends + family
  34. I am proud of this!
  35. I love the fact I can (almost) cook something-from-nothing
  36. I will eat it; kids + hub generally a bit more cautious about my creations.
  37. I really love Charlie and Lola
  38. I am just a tiny, little, weeny bit like Lola.
  39. I met my now husband when I was 16.
  40. I am not scared of most insects,
  41. but I get a bit ‘eek’ if I see ants. Yuck!
  42. I eat chocolate every day
  43. I only eat one or two squares though.
  44. I am such a cheap date
  45. I get drunk on half a pint of shandy
  46. I once drank two Long Island Iced Teas
  47. the results were not pretty!
  48. I am slightly good at lots of things,
  49. which really doesn’t help when it comes to deciding what job I really want to do.
  50. For now I’ve decided to just enjoy life, it’s pretty special!

If you want to join in, visit City Girl Gone Coastal to join in the linky.

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on January 8, 2013 at 9:39 pm. It’s filed under #amonthof, Thinking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Poignant – #amonthof creative moments – joining in with 50 things about me

  1. That was a fun read. I’ve never had a ‘proper’ job either and I am too absolutely small to decide what I want to be when I grow up!

  2. Thanks for joining in, love your list, reading these has been very enlightening!

    I think being a barmaid counts as a proper job, not sure I could do those hours on my feet! I don’t get the ant thing, but I have panic attacks over spiders so who am I to talk!

  3. I LOVE THIS. Wonderful idea, I might do the same 🙂 xxx PS – you’re *very* cool actually 😀

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

