Happiness Project – Guest Post by Trudy Thompson

As part of my Happiness Project I have been asking friends and family what makes them happy or if they have any advice about how to become happier. I have known Trudy Thompson since the end of last year, she is my mentor and friend. I admire her greatly as she has set up her own very successful business and is clearly very happy in what she does. Here she shares her tips for happiness, have a read and have a go at Trudys Wow!Technique; it has certainly helped me!

‘Happiness is when what you think, what you say and what you do are in harmony

Mahatma Gandhi

I can honestly say that I am happy, to me happiness is reaching a level of contentment with my life as a whole, to give me the resilience to cope with stressful situations with an inner calm.  I haven’t always felt like this, it took me a long time to realise that the key to finding happiness wasn’t having more money, it is simply summed up in the Gandhi quote by having harmony in what you think, say and do.
When I created Bricks and Bread Sustainable Living Centre in 2009 I didn’t write a Business Plan I wrote a Wow list to shape my vision and discover the steps I needed to take, and when the going gets tough and I need some inspiration I refer back to my wow list to put my thinking into perspective.
So what is a wow list? It’s a creative thinking technique I’ve developed over 20 years of being self-employed and it has helped me achieve some amazing things in my career, but most of all it has enabled me to discover what I really think.
I have found this method so useful that when I started mentoring people as part of my social enterprise activities I decided to share my Wow list technique and it appears to work so well for them too that it has formed the basis of all my mentoring sessions.
You can find out about the Wow technique on http://www.wowmentoring.com on this website I have shared the basic method which will help you write your first Wow list, it takes a little motivation to keep using this technique which is where I come in as a mentor to provide the encouragement to help people keep going.  If you would like a free mentoring session I give free sessions every Saturday that you can book on www.bricksandbread.com and get half an hour of my time either in person at the Centre or via Skype.
Trudy Thompson
Founder of Bricks and Bread Sustainable Living Centre

Trudy Thompson

This entry was published on September 26, 2012 at 4:36 pm. It’s filed under Thinking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

