Getting the balance right + pub night in!

We had a friend visit us yesterday evening and I felt that I couldn’t just feed him soup (which was what was on the menu) but I needed to provide a pudding of some description. I had rhubarb waiting to be used up so a rhubarb Herman cake it was!

Sorry to tease you as no recipe here but I will work on the rhubarb Herman cake and let you know when I’ve cracked it

To be honest the cake wasn’t that good, yes it was cakey but it barely tasted of rhubarb so at this point I hope you don’t mind but I will work on the recipe and save it for another day. What I really want to talk about is what a really lovely evening we had. It was a quiet evening in but we spent the whole time sat round the dining table chatting. This is something that we haven’t done for ages! After putting the kids to bed, often with a few stalls of more water, another book, another song or even just a quick hug they are usually settled around 8pm. My husband and I do a bit of tidying then generally go our separate ways; me to my laptop, crafting or occasionally telly and him to his XBox, computer or Star Wars card game (yawn)! It is a very rare occasion that we sit to watch something on telly together and never sit and talk!

For my 30 by 30 challenge number 17 is to spend more time with my husband. This is one of the more vague challenges and I think that it really needs to be defined somewhat. We are both very different and since we have had the kids get little time to go out together and the couple of hours we have in the evening after they are in bed we like to do our own thing as we have both had long busy days. This leaves no time to do things together and I can imagine that if this continues, somewhere down the line we may end up going our separate ways. Everyone says that relationships need work and I think this one could do with some effort being put it!

I would love to decide on one day a week to just sit at the table to chat, no media distracting us, maybe with a couple of drinks or even just a cup of tea or coffee. We could make it our own pub night – oh, I just thought of that and really like the idea! We don’t get the chance to go out to the pub so we could bring the pub to our dining room!

I have said it before and I know I will say it again, it is hard being a parent, you get very little time to yourself and if your co-parent is still in the picture, very little time with them. I know I keep setting myself targets and will do always but I think it is time to slow down a bit, I know my Herman book will never be finished by the summer holidays and really I am not creating it to make money but more for myself to get a book published and hopefully encourage others to bake at home.

So, re-assesing the bigger picture and looking at all of my challenges that I’d like to do before I’m 30 I think I need to do little bits of more of them, have a more balanced life.

What do you think? Do you have a balanced life? Do you think having a pub night at home is a good idea?

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on June 21, 2012 at 11:11 am. It’s filed under Friends, Thinking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Getting the balance right + pub night in!

  1. Catherine, everything you’ve said is spot on! A balanced life is vital for all of your family and it is so easily to get caught up in things. When I read your post about the 30 things to do before your 30 it inspired me to look back at my unfinished bucket list. In fact I should finish it and write a little post. I too am trying to do so much, but there are days when you sit back and think I should slow down. On the plus side, if what you are doing is ‘your love’ and you are doing it ‘with love’ then everything usually flows and works out.

    The pub night in is a fantastic idea and imagine he’d look forward to coming how to drink with you. Adult time is indeed important.

    Keep writing, I’m always reading and thanks for being so open and being you!

    Kx

    • Kay, thank you so much for your lovely comment. I love writing lists but sometimes think that they don’t help either as they put pressure on to get things done 🙂
      I do love what I am doing, Herman is just so much fun and I love all the different things I can make with him and sharing my ideas.
      I did suggest the ‘pub night in’ idea to Rich and he thinks it is a great idea. We used to enjoy trying different beers and real ales so we will get some different drinks in, maybe get some cards out to play rummy, looking forward to it 🙂
      Thank you again for your comment,
      Cx

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

