Back to Herman basics – Part 1 – Herman Lemon Drizzle Cake

Having decided with myself that I will write a book full of recipes to use Herman I thought I ought to set a date for getting it finished! As with most projects I set myself I set quite strict deadlines and then get grumpy when I don’t manage to get them finished so I have set myself two dates, one to have all the recipes finished by and the other to have the book designed and ready for print. My ultimate aim is to have it finished by the summer holidays so that I can thoroughly enjoy my time with the kids before my Isabella starts at the school nursery.

I have worked out roughly how many recipes I need and am rather short so I decided last night to go back to the original Herman recipe and just add things to it! I have been very satisfied with the results, I baked a Lemon Drizzle, Banana and Toffee Apple cakes.

Mass Herman baking last night – three different cakes ready for the oven

I will split my posts for ease of finding the recipes in the future, so, this post is about Herman Lemon Drizzle Cake. Those of you who have had a wander round my blog or have followed for a while will know that I attempted a Herman lemon drizzle in the past and trying to be too clever it went hopelessly wrong and I was very disappointed and threw the whole thing away. This one is much better, still needs some work but is definitely more like a lemon drizzle cake should be.

Herman Lemon Drizzle Cake

  • 225g caster sugar
  • 225g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 175ml cooking oil
  • 2 eggs
  • One portion of Herman
  • zest of 2 lemons

For the drizzle

  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 100ml water

Preheat the oven to 180°C/Gas 4. Sift the dry ingredients into a large bowl. Combine the other ingredients in another bowl then add this to the dry ingredients. Mix gently until all combined. Pour into a greased and floured or lined tin (I used a 900g/2lb loaf tin this time but think the recipe needs a bigger tin so the cake is flatter).

Bake for about 1 hour, covering with silver foil after 30 minutes to stop the top browning too much.

Once cooked take the cake out of the oven. Put the drizzle ingredients in a small pan and simmer for about 5 minutes until sugar has dissolved and mix is slightly syrupy. Pour this over the still hot cake while it is in the tin. Remove from tin when cold enough to handle.

 

Herman Lemon Drizzle Cake

 

General Appearance: The cake did sink in the very middle, but no burnt top or edges so very happy about that.

Aroma: Lemony Herman (Just had a funny look from my husband “I’m only smelling the cake” I said, but I did have to agree that does sound strange)

Texture: Moist and light, just what you want from a good Lemon Drizzle Cake.

Taste: Not as strong a lemon taste as I’d have hoped, I put in the zest from 2 lemons, maybe it could do with the zest from one more or even some lemon juice. Either way you can still taste the Herman which is not unpleasant but doesn’t exactly compliment the lemon.

Not a bad cake in all but another trial needed with more lemon, let me know if you try this recipe and if you made any changes. I think I’d also like to put an icing sugar drizzle over the top too to make it look pretty.

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on June 11, 2012 at 6:31 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Herman, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

