Back to Herman basics – Part 3 – Herman Toffee Apple Cake

Ok, so this cake is a bit of a cheat, this is really back to the basic Apple Cake recipe but no spice and no raisins but I used Muscavado sugar instead which gave it such a different flavour that I was really pleased with. What I really want to do is work out how to get some real toffee into the recipe, maybe chopping up some fudge into small chunks is the way to go. I will definitely be working on this one, I really like the flavour.

Herman Toffee Apple Cake

  • 112g dark Muscavodo sugar
  • 112g plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 82ml oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 medium cooking apple, chopped into small chunks
  • Half portion of Herman

Preheat the oven to 180°C/Gas 4. Sift the dry ingredients into a large bowl. Combine the other ingredients in another bowl then add this to the dry ingredients. Mix gently until all combined. Pour into a greased and floured or lined loaf tin.

Bake for about 50 minutes – 1 hour, covering with silver foil after 30 minutes to stop the top browning too much.

Toffe Apple Herman Cake

General Appearance: Lovely golden colour, can see some of the apples sticking out of the top which have caramelised.

Aroma: Toffee Apple.

Texture: Possibly slightly too sticky, I did use an enormous apple which may be why.

Taste: Nice caramelised sugar and apple flavour, really want to put in some chunks of toffee in this cake which will add a nice taste hit.

Fewh, super quick blogging tonight. It is so funny, I never thought I would like writing so much but I love it. Really hope you are all enjoying my Herman experiments, I do have some other posts in mind, have nearly finished Williams quilt (I keep saying I’ve nearly finished, but I really have this time) and the garden is looking…well different, weather has just been yucky!

I’ll be back, not sure when but soon, happy baking,

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on June 11, 2012 at 7:47 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Herman, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Back to Herman basics – Part 3 – Herman Toffee Apple Cake

  1. Linda on said:

    Hi , this toffee apple cake could u maybe add some soft toffees like worthless soft toffee cut up !!! .?? I like the sound of this one so may trying x

    • Hi Linda, I think that’s a fab idea and I would add some toffee bits next time I bake this too.
      Let me know if you try it, I’ve never baked cakes with soft toffee in, I’m not sure how it would turn out.
      Hope it goes well, Catherine x

  2. Well – busy baking morning this morning!! In my husband’s words “this might be the best one yet”! I doubled up the ingredients and made two – so one will have to go into the freezer once it’s completely cold.

  3. This was lovely – in fact it becomes more flavourful the following day. I grated the apples and added egg white on top of the egg and it came it very nice and dry. Good to read you can freeze these too, as I’m having to taste everything I’ve baked so far….

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

