Back to Herman basics – Part 2 – Herman Banana Loaf Cake

Another Herman cake I have been meaning to try is a Banana version. As I was baking three different cakes last night this is only a Half Herman recipe so I could fit it into a 450g/1lb loaf tin.

Herman Banana Loaf Cake

  • 112g sugar
  • 112g flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 82ml oil
  • 1 egg
  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • Half Portion of Herman

Preheat the oven to 180°C/Gas 4. Sift the dry ingredients into a large bowl. Combine the other ingredients in another bowl then add this to the dry ingredients. Mix gently until all combined. Pour into a greased and floured or lined loaf tin.

Bake for about 50 minutes – 1 hour, covering with silver foil after 30 minutes to stop the top browning too much.

Herman Banana Loaf Cake

General Appearance: Looks just like the banana loaf cake that I usually make, the middle split too revealing the lighter colour cake inside, super.

Aroma: Sweet, baked, ripe bananas!

Texture: Moist and light, perfect banana loaf texture.

Taste: I only put two bananas in this cake, I usually put 3 in the loaf cake recipe that I make, but it still tasted great, possibly the Herman cake I am most pleased with so far.

Another post coming in a few more minutes, such a good job I can touch type, put the kids in bed too since my last post!

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on June 11, 2012 at 7:26 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Herman, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Back to Herman basics – Part 2 – Herman Banana Loaf Cake

  1. Karen Crabb on said:

    Hi – your fab recipe produced the best banana cake that I’ve made to date, and I’ve tried lots! I had three nearly black bananas so doubled up your recipe and it was enough for two loaf tins. The resulting bread was light and moist and tasty enough to eat on its own. Friends came back for thirds!!! Am repeating my attempt again tonight to ensure it was not just beginners luck. Cheers and keep posting – I’m hooked on Herman!
    KarenK

    • Ah Karen, thank you so much for your message. I was so pleased with my Herman Banana Cake so I am glad you are too. Hope they do turn out well tonight too, good timing getting the bananas ripe at the same time as Herman is ready 😉
      Enjoy, Catherine

  2. Hi can anyone please tell me how much a ‘potion’ of Herman is????? In the lovely banana cake recipe from Catherine, she referes to half a portion of Herman – so how much is that please??????
    Thank you
    Sky

  3. After making the Herman Banana Loaf with your recipe, I got creative and experimented with alternative ingredients. I thought I’d share my variations, in case you and your readers would like to experiment, as well.
    In one version, I substituted 82 ml melted unsalted butter for the oil and instead of 2 bananas, used 1/2 of a banana and 1 whole pear (pealed, cored, chopped). In another (same butter for oil substitution) I used one banana, 1/2 of an apple (pealed, cored, chopped) and 1/8 – 1/4 cup of chopped pecans. Both versions were a hit!
    Thanks for sharing your Herman recipes. Your site is my ‘go to’ source for baking!

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

