Cinnamon Herman Biscuits

It seems like weeks since I wrote for my blog but it has only just been over a week. We had such a busy but super weekend. How was yours? Did you celebrate the Jubilee in any way?

I am so excited to say that I was asked to write a piece for www.hermanthegermanfriendshipcake.com about How to Make Bread from Herman.

Well back to my Herman baking, in the last week I have tried to make crumpets, Chelsea buns, strawberry cake, cinnamon biscuits, choc chip muffins and pancakes all with Herman. A few of these were very experimental so not really worthy of a blog post, I guess it is probably good to say that I do fail at baking sometimes so to those of you new to baking don’t lose heart, learn from your mistakes and try again.The crumpets were ok, but my frying pan is not good enough so the bottoms of the crumpets burned before they were cooked, I now have a Le Creuset pan that I am borrowing off a friend and am just waiting for a good time to try crumpets again. The Chelsea buns were dry, not sure if they were over-cooked or the dough had too much flour in, we did salvage the nice sticky bits from the middle so they weren’t a complete waste. The strawberry cake may be the best recipe I have tried so far and I am so sorry to say that I am keeping it for now, I hope you don’t mind. I really would like to write a book for Herman recipes and would love to have some new and exciting recipes for you all to try. So, on to the cinnamon biscuits, these did work and we had them for our Street Party.

Herman Cinnamon Biscuits

For the dough:

  • 120g/4oz butter
  • 200g/7oz caster sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
  • One portion of Herman (about 350g/12oz)
  • 400g/14oz flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

For the coating:

  • 3 tbsp caster sugar
  • 2 tbsp ground cinnamon

Beat together the butter, sugar and vanilla essence until light and fluffy. Add the portion of Herman and mix well.

Sift together the dry ingredients and combine this with the already mixed ingredients in two or three parts. Mix well until the dough forms a smooth ball. Place the dough in a bowl, cover with cling film and leave in the fridge for an hour.

While the dough is resting line two baking trays with baking parchment. Next mix together the caster sugar and ground cinnamon for the coating in a small bowl. About 10 minutes before you take the dough out of the fridge preheat the oven to 170C/ Gas Mark 3.

Take the dough out of the fridge, have your trays and coating set up ready. Break small pieces off and roll into balls about 3cm/1 inch round, roll these in the cinnamon sugar until completely coated. Place the balls onto the baking trays, about six to eight on each allowing 5cm/2 inch between each one to allow space for spreading during cooking.

Place in the oven on the top shelf and bake for about 12 minutes until the biscuits are slightly cracked on top and a light golden colour. Allow to cool slightly on the tray before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Repeat until all dough is used up. Depending on size of biscuits makes 30 – 40.

Herman Cinnamon Biscuits

I had quite a few complements on these biscuits but I personally felt that they were too sugary and would put less sugar in next time I make them but they were quite moreish and it was quite difficult just to eat one of them.

Well I’m off to try to finish the patchwork quilt I am making for William one of my 30 by 30 challenges, that will be a post for another time.

Hope you had a super weekend and having a good week so far, only one more day and it’s the weekend again, yippee!

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on June 7, 2012 at 8:13 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Herman, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Cinnamon Herman Biscuits

  1. I am looking forward to making some Herman Cinnamon Biscuits over the weekend, I’ll let you know how well they work with my hit&miss baking style.

    • It’s quite a forgiving recipe I think, make sure you cream the butter and sugar until nice and fluffy and combine the dry ingredients in well to form a smooth dough and you should be ok 🙂
      Not sure if you can see on the photo, I made big ones and small ones, just make sure all of the same size are on one baking tray as they will need different baking times: smaller about 12 mins, bigger a bit longer.
      Hope it goes well 🙂

  2. Leanne Rodrigues on said:

    they look delicious!x

  3. I made these over the weekend and they turned out really well. I only made a half-batch due to shortage of time. I might have made them a little large – we ended up giving them about 15 mins rather than 12. DH agrees with you on the sugar, but I liked them as they were. Thanks!

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

