Herman weekend – Part 4 – Herman Banana Bread

For this final recipe I started it off on the Sunday evening and actually finished it off on Monday morning. This was a little more experimental than some of the other Herman experiments. I love banana bread, I call it banana bread but it is actually a banana loaf cake, but what I would really love is a real banana bread, sticky but bready at the same time. This is what I was hoping to achieve for this recipe, I didn’t achieve what I set out to but the result was actually rather good and we enjoyed it as bread with butter, sandwiches with sliced banana in and toasted with butter and honey on, delicious!

The ingredients are the totals of what I added, I will explain what order I did things in but as with all my Herman recipes it does need some work on.

Herman Banana Bread

  • 525g strong white flour
  • 100ml water
  • 50g butter
  • 1 medium, free range egg
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • One portion of Herman

To start with I combined 450g flour, 100ml water, 50g butter and the portion of Herman and using my mixer I kneaded it until it was smooth and silky.

I left the dough in the bowl overnight at room temperature. First thing in the morning I added the egg and mashed bananas and set the mixer on again, this just created a bowl of gloopy stuff with lumps of bread dough in it. I did the only thing I could think of to rescue it and added 25g flour to see what happened, this soaked up some of the stickyness but was still lumpy. Another 50g later and the dough finally came together, I then shaped it and put it into a large, greased loaf tin. I then put it in the airing cupboard, it was in there for four hours in the end as I went out with William in the morning and didn’t take it out until after I had collected Isabella from nursery.

I then put it in the oven preheated to its hottest setting. I baked it for 10 minutes at the high temperature then reduced the temperature to Gas 4/180C and cooked it for a further 45 minutes.

Herman Banana Bread – enjoyed sat outside in the sun with a cuppa

We weren’t able to wait until the bread had gone cold so we had it sliced, with butter on. We ate it outside in the sun, I actually think that was the start of our eating outside for this year, since then we have had most meals in the garden, what bliss!

General Appearance: Very dark top but well risen, perfect loaf shape.

Aroma: Sweet banana, yeasty.

Texture: Bready texture, but not the sticky banana I was thinking I’d get.

Taste: Not as strong a banana taste as I’d have hoped.

Feel free to try this recipe, it is a bit on the experimental side, I was hoping for something completely different. I have a feeling I am quite critical of my own experiments because this Banana Bread was perfectly edible, it was actually pretty good and I would make it again.

I need to plan some more Herman experiments, do you have a favourite cake you would like me to trial with the Herman mix? Or, what I would really like to do is more bread type things, do you have any bready ideas for Herman?

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on May 26, 2012 at 8:40 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Herman, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

