Herman weekend – Part 3 – Herman Ginger Cake

A good recipe for Jamaican Ginger Cake, the sort that McVitie’s make, is one of those things that I have been on the look out for a while. As Herman seems to make sticky, sweet cakes I thought I may be onto something here…

I’ll go straight to the recipe and let you know what it is like after.

Herman Ginger Cake

  • 150g butter
  • 200g golden syrup
  • 175g treacle
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp mixed spice
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda, dissolved in 2 tbsp warm water
  • 110ml milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 225g plain flour
  • One portion of Herman

Grease and line a 23cm square cake tin. Pre-heat the oven to 160C/Gas Mark 3.

Melt the butter, syrup and treacle over a low heat, stirring frequently. Leave this to mostly cool. Add the milk, eggs, Herman and bicarbonate and water and stir until well combined. Sift the dry ingredients into a large bowl, pour in the butter, syrup mixture and mix well until combined. Pour into prepared tin, bake for 45-60 minutes until risen and firm.

Leave to cool completely. Once cooled wrap in greaseproof paper and silver foil and leave for up to two weeks for the flavour to develop fully and to get very sticky.

Herman Ginger Cake

General Appearance: Yippee! This one didn’t sink in the middle! I think that maybe cooking the Herman at the lower temperature for longer is what has helped the cake rise. Also, in appearance, this Ginger Cake looks fab, super sticky.

Aroma: Sweet, spicy, gingery, treacly.

Texture: Very light, well risen but actually not that sticky.

Taste: As compared to my previous ginger cake this one doesn’t really taste of ginger, super fail on that one! Also there is just not that sweetness and depth that I expect from a Ginger Cake.

I had a few of my friends around today and I opened this cake, it was only made on Sunday so has had five days wrapped up, maybe it really needs those two weeks to fully develop its flavour. I am actually surprised that is cake wasn’t as sweet or sticky as I was expecting as I thought Herman would really lend its self to baking this. My friends seemed to like the cake so this recipe does work on its own but I am not happy with it and will be trying it again with more ginger and more sugar.

Do you have a ginger cake recipe that can match the McVitie’s version? Or is it a family secret?

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on May 25, 2012 at 9:18 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Herman, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Herman weekend – Part 3 – Herman Ginger Cake

  1. Mine was stodgy in the middle 😦

    • Hi Kat, sorry to hear that, I did find that the Herman cakes often needed a bit more baking time than I thought they would. A good tip is to cover with silver foil and to cook for 10 more minutes, then to keep checking every 10 minutes until a skewer inserted into the cake comes out clean. Hope that helps 🙂

  2. Hi – I have just found Herman and am intrigued on the new dimension it can add to my baking. I am obsessed with the Ruth Pretty gingerbread recipe http://www.ruthpretty.co.nz/recipes.aspx/Cakes-Scones-Loaves/esthers-gingerbread but I replace the golden syrup with honey and it makes it much less super sweet and lovely and sticky. I may now try a Herman/Esther’s Gingerbread mix….hhmmmmmm

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

