Herman weekend – Part 2 – Pear and Ginger Herman Cake

Well, to continue my write-up of the Herman baking experiments that I did this weekend here is the second cake that I tried, a Pear and Ginger Herman Cake.

This was just using the standard Herman recipe but substituting pear for apple and ginger for the cinnamon. To be honest I am not sure that I liked it, I love pears and I was disappointed that I couldn’t really taste the pear. If it was supposed to be a ginger cake it would have been great as it was very gingery.

Pear and Ginger Herman Cake

  • 170g caster sugar
  • 225g plain flour
  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 175ml cooking oil
  • 2 tbsp black treacle
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 pears, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 6 pieces stem ginger, chopped into very small pieces
  • One portion of Herman

Grease and line a 23cm square cake tin. Pre-heat the oven to 180C/Gas Mark 4.

Sift the dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Beat the oil, eggs, treacle and Herman in a mixing jug, add this to the dry ingredients. Add the pears and stem ginger and stir everything well until well combined.

Bake for 45 mins, if after 30 mins the top is looking very brown cover with tin foil, test with a skewer and if it comes out clean the cake is cooked.

Pear and Ginger Herman Cake

General Appearance: Yet another Herman that sunk in the middle! Nice colour though.

Aroma: Sweet and gingery.

Texture: A very moist cake, well risen round the edges but too sticky and dense in the middle.

Taste: Just tastes like ginger, I have a feeling that may be the tablespoon of ginger and six pieces of stem ginger that did that. I am still disappointed that the pear was completely lost, it did however keep the cake very moist.

What other combinations do you think I could put with pear to make a good cake? I was thinking honey or chocolate.

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on May 25, 2012 at 8:15 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Herman, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Herman weekend – Part 2 – Pear and Ginger Herman Cake

  1. So it’s not just my Herman’s that sink then!

    • Hi Alison,
      I’m still not sure why they always sink, I think they need a lower temperature and longer cooking but always seem to forget that and they come out sunk in the middle again 🙂 I’m still experimenting so will let you know if I come up with a fool proof solution to the sinking-Herman!
      Lucky they still taste good 🙂

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

