Herman Scones

As I sit here writing, yet another Herman experiment is in my oven, one Herman is in my fridge, one is in the freezer and yet another poor Herman is not going to be fed tomorrow. I do, however, still have one that is not being subject to some experiment that I am feeding and nurturing until Friday next week then he too will come to his own fate in the form of some other delicious cake or bake.

When writing my 30 by 30 list just two weeks ago I wrote:

29. Get a book published.

The reason it was at 29 was that it is something I have always wanted to do, but thought it was one thing that I most likely wouldn’t get accomplished by the time I was 30. Then, last Thursday I had a great idea to create a recipe book for Herman sourdough, I typed it into a search engine and no books were out there for Herman cakes or for sweet sourdough recipes. Since then I have been experimenting with the limitations of Herman and really trying to understand the science behind it all as well as writing the outline of my book and researching recipes. Below is the latest of my experiments:

Herman Scones

  • 280g/10oz self-raising flour
  • 85g/3oz butter
  • 1 portion of Herman

Preheat the oven to 200C/Gas 6. Rub the butter into the flour with your fingertips until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and tip in the Herman, all in one go, then using a knife cut through the mix until combined into a soft dough.

Tip the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead briefly. Roll the dough out to a 2.5cm/1in thickness, then stamp out 5cm/2in rounds with a cutter. Gather up the trimmings, knead again briefly and stamp out more rounds.

Herman Scones ready to go in the oven

Transfer the Herman scones to a baking sheet, spaced a little apart and bake for 12-15 minutes until risen and light golden. Leave the scones to cool on a wire rack and serve with cream and jam.

Herman Scones straight out of the oven

General Appearance: The Herman scones look like scones, I didn’t glaze them as it was late last night and I just wanted to get them in the oven. They didn’t rise as much as I had expected but I do wonder what would happen if I left them in a warm place for 1/2 hour – another experiment.

Texture: The texture is perfect scone texture; light and crumbly.

Light and crumbly Herman Scone

Aroma: Herman scones do smell like Herman, not quite as alcoholic but there is still that hint of yeast fermentation. This is not bad, just different.

Taste: There is still a hint of Herman in the taste of the scones, but again this is not a bad thing and if, like me, you like to have jam and cream on your scones you don’t notice it at all.

Strawberry jam and clotted cream on Herman Scones, with a cup of tea, perfect!

If you have some Herman spare and love scones why don’t you give these a go. Takes about 30 minutes in total, including cooking time and they are super warm with butter on. I will definitely make these again.

Happy baking,

Catherine

This entry was published on May 4, 2012 at 8:57 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Herman, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

14 thoughts on “Herman Scones

  1. Gill Booton on said:

    I will try, thanx Catherine x

  2. Have just tried your scone recipe, plus sultanas, very successful and tasty.

  3. I had a Herman that I shared with the children in my class at school last September. Some of them took it home – it’s still doing the rounds – every so often one of them brings it into school to pass on to someone else and my classroom stinks for the day! I can only blame myself!

  4. massive dissaster thay were far too sticky to roll so i made a big mess and decided to just spoon the mix and bake they nearlt cooked but the middles were not quite done so the underside is a very dark (not burned :-)..) the top is pale white and the middles are just a touch too undercooked! can you tell me how many grams a portion of your herman works out as because then i can work out how much extra flour to add for next time or less herman whichever works out best. anyway try try again iv a never ending herman friend so i will get it right eventually.

    excuse the spelling my hands have scone mix on them haha

    • Oh no, I’m so sorry they didn’t work, I use about 350g Herman for each portion. Roughly 70g flour, 140g sugar and 140ml/g milk. I use a knife to cut through and fold over the mix until it is well mixed, it takes a bit of time but should make a nice light dough.
      That was a good idea to bake the mix anyway, I hope they are at least a bit edible x

    • Hi Lorna-Ann,
      Just thought I’d let you know the latest recipe that I have put up is for Chocolate Muffins, easier than the scones, chocolate cake with three different types of chocolate chunks in!! You could always add a handful of chopped nuts too 🙂 Hope you like them x

  5. tabbytinkerbell on said:

    oooooooh these are scrummy! I’ve just pulled out a batch from the oven with raisins in and may even add cheese to the next batch. They are super easy!

  6. Davina on said:

    Great post, I just received my first Herman and am looking forward to trying this recipe (love that it’s only 3 ingredients) a tip with helping scones to rise properly is not to space them apart but for them to huddle together as they will help each other rise (if that makes sense) – let me know how you go if you try it again with that little trick!

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

