Basic Herman Sponge Cake

Today was supposed to be the day that I was going to test out a lot of new ideas that I have had for using my Herman. I spent yesterday evening trawling through recipe books for various cake, pudding and bread recipes and calculating what ingredients are in one portion of Herman mix and how I could substitute this for other ingredients in each recipe. Well, having two small children and even with the best of intentions I only managed one trial on my Herman and that was to bake him into a very Basic Herman Sponge Cake – nothing added!

This being an experiment I am pleased at the result:

General apperance: The cake itself ended up sinking in the middle as I kept taking it out to see if it was cooked and also it is very brown as it just didn’t cook in the time I thought, it ended up needing an hour in the oven.

Basic Herman Sponge – rather brown with a sunken middle

Texture: It makes a very dense sponge so wouldn’t make a very good layered Victoria Sponge but would be great for a birthday style cake that needs icing.

Lovely light colour inside and tastes delicious

Aroma: There is still a hint of the Herman smell to the cake but none of the alcohol smell, just sweet and almost apple like.

Taste: The taste of the cake is what is so wonderful, as my 3 1/2 year old daughter said “it tastes like honey on toast” – I couldn’t have described it better. It is very sweet with an almost floral, vanilla flavour but has that hint of yeast which gives it a bready flavour.

I used a 8inch round tin to bake my Herman Sponge in and as it browned so much before it was cooked I think a larger tin would be better for this recipe, even an 8inch square tin would have been better, just make sure there is enough room for it to rise as it does rise quite well.

Below are the basic instructions.

Basic Herman Sponge Cake

  • 225g/8oz sugar (1 cup)
  • 225g/8oz plain flour (2 cups)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 175ml/6oz cooking oil (2/3 cup) – I used corn oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 portion of Herman

Pre-heat the oven to Gas 4/180C. Grease and line a large tin (see note above). Sieve the sugar, flour and baking powder into a large bowl. Measure out the oil into a measuring jug, add the eggs and Herman and mix well with a whisk. Pour this into the dry ingredients and stir until this is all combined. Pour into the baking tin. Bake for around 45 minutes, check after 30 minutes and cover with silver foil if browning too much. Once out of the oven leave to cool then remove from tin.

Do let me know if you bake this recipe, I’d love to get some feedback on the recipes that I am posting. Hopefully I’ll get time to bake some more tomorrow.

Happy baking,

Catherine

This entry was published on May 2, 2012 at 8:19 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Herman, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Basic Herman Sponge Cake

  1. Bridget Leyden on said:

    That sounds good. I might try it with some of my sourdough bread starter. If I do I’ll let you know. Still finishing up birthday cake at the moment as Astrid was 5 at the weekend.

  2. Claire on said:

    Hi, i have just split Herman and wanted a basic recipe. Am going to try this possibly tonight. thinking about covering it in buttercream.Also going to attempt a chocolate and a ginger one tomorrow.

    • Hi, this recipe is nice and easy, it is very sweet though, you could take 25g/1oz of sugar off the recipe so it is less sweet.

      Hope your Herman cakes turn out well, the chocolate and ginger one sounds great 🙂

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

