Toffee and Pecan Herman Cake

Two Herman starters - Herman really is taking over my life (well, my kitchen at least)

I feel like I am really playing on this now but I am going to write about Herman yet again. I feel like he is taking over! I had said that I would save a portion for a friend when I split it/him last week, it is now day four in our feeding cycle and I have fed both Hermans so I have two of them bubbling on the side in the kitchen.

I had mentioned that I made one of the batches into a Toffee and Pecan cake, I am not that keen on nuts in cake but this was a special one for my husband who is beginning to protest at the number of cakes I have been baking containing raisins, dried fruit or bananas. The recipe I have designed does actually contain dates, an ingredient that he is not keen on but he has said that the cake is delicious. Even with the nuts in I am inclined to agree, so here is the recipe:

Toffee and Pecan Herman cake - it's a lovely golden colour and tastes like caramel

Toffee and Pecan Herman

  • 200g pecan halves
  • 150g dates, stoned
  • 225g light muscovado sugar
  • 225g plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp mixed spice
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 175ml cooking oil (I used Mazola corn oil)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • One portion of Herman

Take 100g of the pecans and whiz to a fine powder, with the other 100g of pecans chop roughly into chunky pieces. Put the dates into a small pan and just cover with water, put on the hob and bring to the boil, boil for 5 minutes. Take the dates and whiz these up until they are a smooth puree, set aside to cool.

At this point pre-heat the oven to 180C/Gas 4. Grease and line a 23cm/9in square tin.

Take a large mixing bowl, sieve the sugar, flour, mixed spice and baking powder all together at the same time (I know it seems strange to sieve sugar but muscovado sugar often forms lumps and as the sugar is not creamed with butter in this recipe then the sugar needs breaking up). Measure the cooking oil into a mixing jug, crack the eggs into the same jug and beat these together with a fork, then add the whizzed pecans, the whizzed dates and the vanilla extract and beat again until completely combined. Pour this into the bowl with the dried ingredients, chopped pecans and the Herman starter, stir until completely mixed then pour into your baking tin.

Bake for 45 mins, if after 30 mins the top is looking very brown cover with tin foil, test with a skewer and if it comes out clean the cake is cooked.

This cake is very tasty just on its own but I do think it would be even nicer warm with Maple syrup drizzled over the top and ice cream on the side.

Hope you had a super Easter day, we had a lovely family day with a nice big lamb roast. Would love to hear if any of you have a go at making this recipe.

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on April 8, 2012 at 7:56 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Herman, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Toffee and Pecan Herman Cake

  1. Very tasty! Thanks for sharing you’re recipe 🙂
    I found my batter was rather thick (maybe my Herman Portion was too small, I used about 250g of Herman) and cooked it in two halves as I didn’t have a cake tin big enough. I added a dash of milk to the second portion of batter to thin the batter down and though it took longer to cook, it turned out more moist than the first cake.

  2. Fiddly to make but very yummy! This week (yes, it’s the old – oh another week, another Herman cake, what am I going to do this week . . . !) I’d run out of pecans so am using walnuts – so will see how that goes! Thanks for recipe!

  3. Pingback: Herman the German | Riverside Baking

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

