All caked out!

What a cakey week it has been, first Ruislips third Clandestine Cake Club meet on Monday night, then another very special Clandestine Cake Club meet today at Betty Blythe Tea Room, near Shepherds Bush, London, which was filmed to be aired on the Lorraine Kelly show in a couple of weeks time.

Afternoon Tea

The theme for our Ruislip meet was Cakes We Love, it having been Valentines day a few days before and as we all love cake I thought this was a fitting theme. There were some spectacular cakes and it was great to hear about peoples favourite cakes. I made a Red Velvet Cake, which I was actually quite upset about as I thought that as I needed to use rather a lot of food colouring I would go for the natural option. This however was not the best for baking, it has a distinct beetroot flavour and lost its red colour, coming out quite orange when baked.

Because of this I decided to play it very safe and bake my favourite tea loaf for todays Afternoon Tea theme. It was such a joy to bake a simple, homely cake and the wonderful smells coming from my oven bring such happy memories. You can find the recipe for my tea loaf back at the start of my January posts, such an easy recipe, no butter beating needed. It was really good to attend a Clandestine Cake Club meet that I hadn’t organised as it made it really exciting and I got the true feeling of the secretiveness of this wonderful cakey gathering. The filming was actually quite fun with lots of out-takes and lots of giggling and best of all we got to meet some other like-minded bakers who are now new friends.

It was so good to be a guest at a Clandestine Cake Club meet, if you get the chance to go to one then you really have to jump at the chance, even if you don’t bake try to find a friend who does and tag along. I promise you will have lots of fun.

I do admit I am slightly caked out so if I do bake this week it will be something different, or maybe even a break from baking, that’s allowed isn’t it?

Will you be baking anything this week? Is there a cake you love? Do you like a nice spot of afternoon tea, what ho?

Happy baking,

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on March 4, 2012 at 10:07 pm. It’s filed under Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “All caked out!

  1. Jennie on said:

    I am thinking of baking a pie or something else savoury…just want to make the most of enjoying being in my kitchen! Xx

  2. I am so glad you posted this recipe – it is the most delicious cake I have had in a VERY long time! Looking forward to baking it in my kitchen! Gxx

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

