Sticky Marmalade Tealoaf

Today I thought I would do a post this morning instead of waiting until last thing at night. I was going to put this up yesterday as I made the cake yesterday but when it came to writing I wanted to write about my Tuesday happy feeling instead.

I have been really enjoying making loaf cakes recently, most of them have fruit in which is nice and healthy and have no icing on, so again nice and healthy but it also means you can slice into the loaves when they are still warm and don’t have to wait to ice-and-slice.

This Sticky Marmalade Tealoaf recipe is one that I have been meaning to try for a while so when a friend brought me a lovely big jar of homemade marmalade on Monday I couldn’t wait to bake this cake. Taken from BBC Good Food – 101 Cakes & Bakes

Sticky Marmalade Tealoaf

  • 140g/5oz marmalade
  • 175g/6oz butter, softened
  • 175g/6oz light muscovado sugar
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 225g/8oz self-raising flour
  • 1/2tsp baking powder
  • 2tsp ground ginger
  • 1tsp mixed spice
  • 100g pecan halves

Preheat the oven to 180C/Gas 4.

Line a 2lb loaf tin with grease proof paper or a tin liner.

Set aside 1 tablespoon of the marmalade in a small pan. In a bowl cream the butter and sugar then fold in the remaining ingredients. Tip into the prepared tin and smooth the top. Bake for about 1 hour until a skewer inserted comes out clean. Cover loosely with foil after 40 minutes.

Once cooked, place on a wire rack to cool slightly. Gently heat the reserved marmalade, stirring until all melted then spread this glaze over the top of the warm loaf. Remove from the tin and leave to cool.

Serve in slices.

This recipe has pecan halves in but I didn’t have any in the cupboard so they didn’t get put in, the cake tastes fine without them. I had this cake with a cuppa yesterday afternoon, I have just had some for my second breakfast now and what I am really excited about is having it for pudding this evening with lovely warm custard over it!

Do you make marmalade? Do you eat marmalade in any other way other than on toast? Do you have a yummy cake to eat at the moment?

Enjoy your day,

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on January 11, 2012 at 9:25 am. It’s filed under Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

