Mums Tea Loaf Recipe

I’ve had a super busy day today so just a quick one, I wanted to share another recipe which is one that my mum often made with us as kids and I now make with mine. The reason this recipe is so good is there is no beating the butter into the sugar to start and the best bit, there are no eggs in the recipe so perfect for small people to lick the bowl after.

Mums Tea Loaf

  • 1/2 pint strong tea
  • 6oz mixed dried fruit (I used apricots, cherries, dates, raisins and sultanas), chopped to raisin size if large
  • 4oz caster sugar
  • 4oz butter
  • 9oz self-raising flour
  • 1tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2tsp mixed spice

    Once this is all melted together it is so yummy, I could eat this instead of the cake!

Put the tea, fruit, sugar and butter into a pan and stir over a low heat until the sugar has dissolved and the butter has melted, raise the temperature until just simmering then turn off the heat. Leave this to cool until just warm.

Preheat the oven to Gas 4/180C and line a 2lb loaf tin with grease proof paper or a tin liner.

Serious batch baking today - 3 at the same time! Kids loved scrapping the bowl out after too!

Sieve the flour, bicarbonate of soda and mixed spice into a large bowl. Pour in the fruit and tea mix and stir well until combined. Pour this into your tin and place tin in the oven. Roll up sleeves, grab a spoon and scrape the last bits out of the bowl to eat.

Bake for 45 mins – check cake is cooked by inserting a skewer into the centre, if it comes out clean the cake is cooked.

One of the finished cakes - ready to eat

Hope you enjoy this recipe, it really is so easy you should give it a go.

Do you have any nice plans for the weekend?

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on January 6, 2012 at 11:28 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Mums Tea Loaf Recipe

  1. Thank you for sharing. Had no eggs and wanted something sweetish to eat. I did use reduced quantities of dried fruit and sugar. In the oven as I write.

  2. I was looking for an eggless tea loaf recipe and came across your recipe. I have used reduced quantities of sugar and dried fruit and all spice and cinnamon as I had no mixed spice but I am convinced it will taste gorgeous. Thank you for sharing.

    • Ooh, ooh, how is it?
      This is my absolute favourite recipe, I bake it nearly every week šŸ™‚ I have also tried the recipe with 3oz sugar and two bananas chopped roughly into the tea then heated – it gives a really dense banana bread but we love it!
      Enjoy your cake x

      • Karan on said:

        Tastes absolutely lovely. Not too sweet, very soft and slightly moist. Thank you again. By the way…I only had sultanas…talk about breaking all the rules šŸ˜‰

      • Hi Karan, so glad the cake turned out well šŸ™‚ I think recipes are there as guides anyway – I don’t often follow recipes and have been known to put all sorts of things in this tea loaf, just what ever is in the cupboard.

    • Karan on said:

      My name is also Karan (readywriteruk)

  3. Pingback: Baking for winter days – Thirty-One Lemons

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

