Carrot Cake with Lemon Buttercream Icing

I love baking, you may have noticed!

I was in a baking mood on Sunday as we had been out for lunch and I didn’t have to cook a meal so I was desperate to get in the kitchen. For some reason we had two large bags of carrots so carrot cake it was.

This recipe is from a cutting I took from a magazine years ago, before we were married but I have no idea which magazine.

Carrot Cake

  • 250g butter, softened
  • 250g caster sugar
  • 150g grated carrot
  • 250g self-raising flour
  • 100g ground almonds
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1tsp ground mixed spice
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • splash of milk
  • (optional 100g walnuts or raisins or a mix)

for the lemon butter cream icing

  • 150g butter, softened
  • 300g icing sugar
  • finely grated rind of 1 lemon
  • juice of half a lemon
  • (optional walnut halves for decoration)

This cake can be baked in a large round (23cm) tin or two loaf tins – choose your tin and line with baking parchment.

Preheat oven to 180C/Gas 4.

Beat the butter and sugar together until very fluffy. Add all other cake ingredients and fold in until thoroughly combined. Add a splash of milk if the mix is too stiff to create a soft mix that only just drops off the spoon.

Spoon into the tin(s) and level the surface. Bake for about 40 for the two loaf cakes or 1hr 10mins for a large cake. Cover the large cake after 40 mins with silver foil to stop it getting too brown. Test with a knife or skewer and take out of oven when cooked through. Leave to cool.

To make the icing, beat the butter until fluffy then beat in the icing sugar, lemon rind and juice. Once the cake is cooled swirl the icing on top and decorate with the walnuts if using.

carrot cake with lemon butter cream icing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hope you have a good week, happy baking if you get a chance to get in the kitchen.

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on February 26, 2013 at 11:33 am. It’s filed under Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Carrot Cake with Lemon Buttercream Icing

  1. Carrot cake is my all time favourite cake, and yours looks sooooo delicious! I must jot down that recipe and give it a go myself!

    • Thank you, it was super, there is only half a piece left now! I did send the hub to work with one of the cakes so I didn’t eat it all!

      The recipe does make two loaf cakes but you could easily half it to make just one loaf :)

  2. Lovely! I have to try this carrot cake recipe soon. Pretty straightforward and I’m sure delicious. It certainly looks that way!

  3. I miss carrot cake and it’s not easily available where I live in the Netherlands. I don’t think the Dutch like it that much Though I’ve found it in a few cafes, it’s not as good as what we had back in the States :-( I really want to try this recipe and will probably start with a half portion. Looks delicious and easy. Thanks!

  4. This looks lovely.

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,149 other followers

