Back to the Happiness Project – trying to de-clutter this week

‘Ahem….do you come here often?’

She coughs again.

‘I used to, then I started doing this Happiness Project, then sort of lost my way a bit and haven’t been here for a while’

Not entirely sure what happened back then but I sort of haven’t been here for ages! Sorry!

Did you miss me?

No, don’t answer that!

I’m still listening to more music, trying to get to bed earlier but not really drinking enough water – it’s too cold for water anyway, need a good cuppa in this weather!

This Happiness Project still has me thinking a lot about happiness, I feel like there are two broad approaches to happiness depending on your disposition. One is to have everything under control, your house clutter free, every thing very well organised. The other is to just completely let go and embrace the unpredictability of life.

This is where I get stuck! I know that having two small children in the house who have an inate ability to find the one thing they are not allowed to play with even if you think you have put it far enough out of their reach, or to completely tear a room apart within minutes of entering it, or get sticky fingers and crumbs everywhere really doesn’t help with the control thing. And, unfortunately I am no good at the embracing thing.

I really need to get back to the little things and try to do one per week to help in an area of control or embrace. So, to that end this is de-clutter week! A week to gain more control over my house. I must admit I have been trying to declutter for the past goodness-knows-how-long so I don’t hold out much hope but if I can get at least a few bags of stuff out of this house then I am sure I will feel much better!

How are you feeling this week? Do you need to do a bit of a de-clutter?

Why not join me and let me know how you get on.

It’s nice to be back,

Catherine

This entry was published on October 22, 2012 at 9:44 pm. It’s filed under Doing, Thinking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Back to the Happiness Project – trying to de-clutter this week

  1. I read The Happiness Project a while ago – thought it had some fab ideas but never really put any of it into practice so I like what you are doing! I think I may have to re-read it. And I am quite messy by nature and it does make me feel better having a de-clutter x

    • Hi Nic, thanks for your comment :) I only read the book a couple of months ago but already want to read it again, I also have Happier at Home – Gretchens new book, that I need to read at some point.
      I am a messy person too and have many different hobbies, all of which seem to make a mess! Ah well, I’ll get there one day x

  2. I know exactly how you feel! I am desperate to de-clutter my house – and my young kids are just as keen to keep it full of things.

    I will gladly join you in this, although I fear it will take far longer than a week. I am hoping to have my house under better control before Christmas – otherwise another year of gifts might just be the final straw that makes it go pop!! Good luck with your de-cluttering, hope to hear how you get on with it soon.

    • Hi Liz, thanks for your comment. Thankfully my two aren’t old enough yet to realise that their things may have surreptitiously made their way to the charity shop!

      I agree, my house won’t be clutter-free in a week either but hopefully I can make a proper start this week and then maintain it better. It is possibly wishfull thinking as I have a house full of guests coming at the weekend and I think hiding the ‘stuff’ may be the best way to go for now ;)

  3. Bridget Leyden on said:

    I missed you :~). I always feel like I need to declutter. I try to do a car boot sale about once a year to get rid of a bit of stuff. But I also like getting things (normally clothes and toys) from the car boot sale. Sometimes I sort out bags to take to the charity shop; but sometimes I don’t get rid of them straight away and decide I want them after all! It is great to dispose of things though. I always think when I go on holiday that I don’t miss most of the things I’ve left behind. Good luck with the clearing. Bridget

    • Hehe, thank you Bridget, haven’t heard from you for ages. Hope you are all well :)

      I have never done a car boot sale, I think it would be quite fun! I must say I feel I am quite good at not buying too many things so really don’t know where all the ‘stuff’ comes from. I must admit though that I am a bit of a hoarder and do keep paper, envelopes, magazines and especially fabric if I think it may be at all useful in the future. I need to make the big craft projects I have planned (a couple of patchwork quilts) then need to get rid of anything I don’t need!

  4. I’m with you on the cold water front but try hot water :) Works for me. Apparently cold water isn’t good for you as it’s a shock to the system especially in the morning. I’ve been decluttering loads and even selling stuff on ebay! :)

    • Hi Belle, thanks for your message :) My mum drinks hot water, I really should give it a try, I do like different herb teas so I can manage with a few of those between the normal tea.
      I haven’t managed to get the hang of ebay, maybe I should give it a go. Unfortunately I don’t really have much to sell I don’t think, a lot of it is hoarded paper, magazines and fabrics. I will give the de-cluttering a go this week and see how I do :)

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,153 other followers

