Triple Chocolate Herman Muffins

Time is running away from me as usual, we have had a super weekend, lots of family time and I got to see my best friend to go for lunch and a bit of shopping, wonderful. I have baked three more Herman cakes this evening but still need to catch up on writing about the recipes I baked last week.

These Triple Chocolate Herman Muffins were super tasty and a nice and easy all-in-one mix, they seemed to dissapear before I could get a picture so you will have to use your imagination for these ones!

Triple Chocolate Herman Muffins

  • 200g/8oz plain flour
  • 25g/1oz cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 85g/3oz each of dark, milk and white chocolate, chopped into chunks (I used 100g of each as if you have ‘willing helpers’ like me some chunks will get eaten!)
  • 1 egg
  • 284ml carton of buttermilk
  • 85/3oz vegetable oil
  • 160g/6 1/2oz Portion of Herman (Half a Portion of Herman)

Preheat the oven to 200C/Gas 6. Line 12 holes of a muffin tin with paper cases.

In a large bowl combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and the chocolate chunks.

In another bowl combine all other ingredients and mix well until combined. Add this to the flour mix and stir gently until just combined, don’t over mix, the mixture should be fairly stiff.

Spoon into the cases then place in the centre of the oven and bake for 20 minutes until well risen. Leave in the tins for about 15 minutes then take out to cool on a wire rack.

There you have it, takes about 40 mins at most, the bit that takes the longest is the chopping up the chocolate which is bearable as you get to pinch bits as you are doing it.

I was inspired to try this recipe by Lorna-Ann Deans who commented on my blog and said she ‘LOVES chocolate’. If you have a favourite cake that you would like to see in a Herman version just let me know and I will give it a go for you and let you know how it turns out.

For now,

Catherine

This entry was published on June 10, 2012 at 9:49 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Herman, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate Herman Muffins

  1. I made these last week and they were a great hit! Thanks for inspiring me to be a bit more creative with Herman :)

    • Hi Nikki, thank you so much for your lovely comment, sorry it’s taken so long to get back to you, I was away on holiday last week. My Herman is still in the freezer as we’ve had a busy summer holiday but as the weather gets colder and we go out less then I think he will come back out again :) hope you have lots of fun with yours, don’t be scared to experiment x

  2. i just made two batches of these and they taste great! I was a bit dubious about the fact there was no sugar, but it’s perfect! They’ll go down well at work! Thanks for the recipe; can’t wait to try more!

  3. I used this as the basis for a red currant muffin, also adding sugar and a bit more flour. It turned out lovely – if you like red currants, that is :)

    I didn’t butter the silicon muffin tray the first time and they came out very cake-like, light and fluffy. The second batch I did oil and they’re a bit heavier but still highly edible.

I love to hear how you are doing too, join the conversation here...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,149 other followers

